Description of the COBIT 5 Implementation Course

ISACA has introduced the COBIT 5 Implementation course and exam for organisations to identify who is competent to implement COBIT 5 using the ISACA approach for enabling change through a programme designed to enable change and manage continuous improvement.

The COBIT 5 Foundation course and exam is the entry point. Only candidates who have passed the COBIT 5 Foundation exam may register for the COBIT 5 Implementation exam.


Participants will obtain an understanding of the of the key aspects of "Change Enablement" using the COBT 5 Implementation Guide and be able to: 

  • Analyse the enterprise drivers for change in IT
  • Identify the implementation challenges, root causes & success factors
  • Assess current process capability (As Is)
  • Determine target process capability (To Be)
  • Scope and plan improvements
  • Consider practical implementation factors
  • Identify and avoid potential pitfalls
  • Leverage the latest good practices
  • Apply the COBIT 5 continual improvement life-cycle approach to address these requirements and establish and maintain a sustainable approach to governing and managing enterprise IT as “normal business practice”.


Participants will learn through discussion and practical examples about:

  • Analysing the enterprise drivers, prioritising business requirements and identifying opportunities for improvements in IT to add value to the business in alignment with strategic objectives
  • Recognising the implementation challenges, root causes and success factors to enable change
  • Avoiding potential implementation pitfalls by leveraging good practice and avoiding poor strategies.
  • Selecting the most appropriate approach to implementing GRC, addressing information technology related pain points and building IT capability 
  • Resourcing strategies for the implementation team
  • Scoping and planning improvements
  • The phases of the Programme Management life-cycle
  • The phases of the Change Enablement life-cycle
  • The phases of the Continuous Improvement life-cycle.

Take the COBIT 5 Implementation Exam!