cobitCOBIT 5 is ISACA’s latest business framework for the governance, management and operation of IT across any enterprise. COBIT 5 can help enterprises create optimal value from IT through effectively and efficiently leveraging resources, optimizing risk management and delivering real benefits to the business.

COBIT 5 - IT Governance Framework

COBIT 5 can assist management design and implement an IT governance framework based on a set of processes with clearly defined expected outcomes, a management system to co-ordinate delivery and governance model to maintain alignment with strategic objectives.

Read more about an IT Governance Framework

COBIT 5 - Integrated Operating Model

COBIT 5 is based on an integrated process model for all activities related to the use of information and information related technology. Together with a management system and governance framework, COBIT 5 enables organisations to plan and operate more efficiently and effectively.

Read more about the COBIT 5 operating model 

COBIT 5 Assessments

The COBIT 5 Process Assessment Model (PAM) provides an outline of the requirements for achieving capability level 1 using the COBIT 5 processes described in the COBIT 5 Enabling Processes Guide. Understanding the current level of capability is the first step of many to increase capability and deliver better performance. The COBIT 5 PAM only describes capability level 1. Assessments at the higher level of capability depend on the competence of the assessor and objectives of the organisation. To overcome the subjective nature of COBIT 5 PAM assessments the ITGN has developed a tool, based on ISO 15504, to ensure a reliable consistent and repeatable assessment. 

Read more about COBIT 5 assessments

COBIT 5 Implementation

The COBIT 5 Implementation Guide describes one of the four possible approaches to implementing the COBIT framework. The focus of the Implementation Guide is programme and project management for the purpose of GRC improvements. The other three approaches to the implementation of COBIT 5 are through  1) working with the CIO to establishment of a IT governance framework,  2)working with process owners to build capability and deliver better performance, and 3) liaising with business regarding the pain points that they experience regarding their IT services.

The ITGN offers consulting services and training across all four types of COBIT implementation. 

Read more about COBIT 5 implementations

COBIT 5 for Risk

COBIT 5 for Risk focuses on the risk management professional and risk management activities. It addresses the establishment of a risk function and the building of a risk management process. The COBIT 5 for Risk guide is in addition to the COBIT 5 APO12 Risk Management process and the COBIT 5 EDM03 Governance of Risk process.

Read more about COBIT 5 and risk management

COBIT 5 for Assurance

COBIT 5 for Assurance focuses on the assurance professional and the assurance activities typical of an assurance provider. It addresses how to set up and maintain an efficient assurance function and provide assurance for the COBIT 5 enablers described in the COBIT 5 Business Framework.

Read more about COBIT 5 assurance